June in the Garden

In my last gardening post I was chomping at the bit to get outside and get my hands in to the dirt. Turns out I should have waited  a little longer cause we had a late frost a week after I got everything planted. Despite putting a frost cover over my plants I lost several and some of my seeds never germinated. Well I guess that is what I get for being impatient.

Despite the set backs my little garden is growing well. I have already gotten several salads from my lettuce and radishes. I am growing four different kinds of tomatoes, and peppers. Got squash, carrots and cabbages again this year. The new veggies I am trying to cultivate are potatoes, asparagus, and ground cherries (a cousin of the tomato). Got a lot of new herbs too, sage, basil, rosemary, chive, parsley, and spearmint. why so many new plants? Its because I have doubled my garden bed from last year. I have four 5*5′ beds. I also created a 20*3 long strip by my fence for blueberry bushes. The one down side of  the blueberry bushes is it will be several years till they are mature enough to harvest.

I also am fortunate enough to have a mulberry tree in my yard and have picked over a gallon of berries off of it so far. I have dehydrated 1/3 of them for use in tea though out the year. I have made pancake syrup, and popsicles with some of the fruit and frozen the rest for convenient use in smoothies or pies.

So far so good. I hope my fellow gardeners are having great luck with their gardens too.

Leave a Reply

